Saturday, June 22nd, 2024
Home | Site Map

Athens Township Services

Police Department || Fire Protection || Public Works || Township Authority || Tax Collector || Dog Licenses || Sanitation Committee || Other Services

Police Department

The Athens Township Police Department was established in 1964 to protect the community and enforce the law. The department is located in the Athens Township Municipal Building at 45 Herrick Avenue, Sayre (Athens Township) PA. The Chief of Police is Roger Clink. His staff consists of 2 sergeants and several officers.

Emergency phone:  911
Non-emergency phone:  (570) 888-2200

The department has organized a Police Benevolent Association which performs many community services. It is financed by an annual fund drive.

Fire Protection

The Athens Township Volunteer Fire Company is a non profit volunteer fire service providing Fire/Rescue, Water Rescue, Fire Prevention, to the residents of Athens Township and mutual aid services to surrounding communities.  It is located at 211 Herrick Avenue, Sayre (Athens Township) PA and at Kirby Street in East Athens.  The Fire Chief is Bryan Farr. 

Emergency phone:  911
Non-emergency phone:  (570) 888-2121

The fire company has many fund raising events and has a social hall available for rent. Please contact the fire station for details and visit their website:

Public Works Department

The Athens Township Public Works department maintains and repairs approximately 75 miles of township roads. This includes paving, patching, grading gravel roads, mowing roadsides, plowing, cindering, bridge work, equipment repair, dust control, road signage, ditch and berm maintenance, road drainage, emergency work and vehicle maintenance. 

They are located in the Athens Township Municipal Building at 45 Herrick Avenue, Sayre (Athens Township) PA. 

5 employees work for the public works department. They are:

Jon Waltenburg-Acting Director of Public Works
CT Hogan 
Dawson Chilson 
Jaydon Gardner 
Garret Stocks 
Chris Stocks 

Athens Township Authority

The Athens Township Authority is responsible for the public sewer service in the township.  They handle all phases of any sewer line extension in the township. They are their own entity with their own budget and take care of all billing. Their office is located at the South Waverly Borough Hall at 2523 Pennsylvania Avenue, South Waverly, PA 18840. The Authority Secretary is Julie Lewis. She can be reached at the office at (570) 888-2815 between 8 AM and 4 PM.  

The (5) Athens Township Authority members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

Authority Members: 

Secretary: Julie Lewis
Meade Murtland
William Steimel
Doug Williams 
Michael Freeland

To view or pay your sewer bill online, please go to



Athens Township Tax Collector

Danielle Kinner
712 Riverside Drive
Athens, PA 18810
Telephone: 570-888-4646

For information on the upcoming changes to the Earned Income Tax Collection, please visit

Dog Licenses

Dog licenses are available at the Bradford County Treasurers office in Towanda, PA. They are also available online. 

Bradford County Sanitation Committee

The Bradford County Sanitation Committee handles all on-lot septic systems in the township. They are located at 24727 Route 6, Suite 1, Towanda, PA, 18848 and can be reached weekdays between 8 AM and 4 PM at (570) 265-9811

Other Services supplying the Township:

Water Company: 
Aqua Pennsylvania
(570) 882-8695

Phone Company:
(800) 483-4000

Electric Company (s):
Penelec - (800) 545-7741
Tri-County Electric - (800) 343-2559
Clavarack - (800) 326-9799

Gas Company:
Valley Energy - (570) 888-9664

Ambulance Coverage:
Greater Valley Emergency Medical Services, Inc.
Business - 570-888-6000
Emergency - 911